Turkey with Okra and Avocado Squash

I’ve been busy at work and away on vacation, so most of my recent meals have been easy, no-recipe creations (like grilled chicken brought back from Texas with roasted sweet potatos and sauteed shisito peppers):

IMG_4790

After getting back and settling into my routine, I wanted my meals for the week to be simple, but I also wanted to take advantage of the amazing amount of produce in season at the Union Square Green Market right now.  I bought my staples (cauliflower, carrots, zucchini, herbs, onions, tomatoes), a lot of greens (most excited about the spigarello, which I blanch and saute with lemon, salt, pepper, and garlic), and some fun, in-season specialty veggies like fava beans, avocado squash, and okra.

IMG_4786

I used the avocado squash and okra in this week’s lunches – but you can easily substitute in zucchini, yellow summer squash, or any other squash variety into this recipe.

Turkey with Okra, Squash, and Mushrooms

Servings: 4
Prep Time: 10 min
Cook Time: 20 min

Ingredients:

  • 2 lbs 93% lean, free range turkey
  • salt, pepper, toasted onion powder
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 3/4 c okra (about 10 pods), sliced into 1 cm pieces
  • 6 crimini mushrooms, sliced thinly
  • 1 avocado squash, sliced and cut into quarters
  • 1 tsp almond oil
  • 1/2 c red onion

Directions:

(1) Brown the turkey and season with spices when the meat is about halfway through cooking, about 5 min.  (I like to add my spices to the meat once it is partially cooked because I have found that the meat retains its flavor best this way).

(2) Once the meat is browned, remove and set it aside.  Add 1 tsp almond oil, the okra, garlic, and mushrooms to the pan.  Add additional salt and pepper to taste.

(3) After about 3 minutes, add the avocado squash and the turkey.  Cook for an additional 3 minutes, until the veggies are browned but still crisp.

IMG_4796

(4) Serve warm and topped with raw red onions.

I am finally back to lifting with a partner tomorrow after 3 weeks on my own, so I will be posting July’s workouts very soon! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

