Super Simple Meal Prep

I love using the oven to cook lunches for the week – I can throw multiple dishes in side by side and let them all cook at the same time.  This past week, I made mixed mushrooms, shisito peppers, brussels sprouts, and broccoli.

The mushrooms and peppers were simple – I shook them around in a ziplock bag with 1/2 T hazelnut oil, salt, and pepper.  I put them on a foil lined baking sheet and cooked for 30 min on 400, flipping them once after 18 min.

IMG_4629

 

For the brussels sprouts, I dissected the sprouts into leaves and smaller halves for faster cooking and tossed them with 1/2 T macadamia nut oil, salt, pepper, 2 cloves garlic, and the zest of one orange.  The broccoli got all the same ingredients, minus the orange zest.  (Again – the foil lined baking sheet makes clean up that much easier!)

I cooked the green veggies about 20 min on 400, turning them once halfway through.  Brussels sprouts take much longer when cooked whole, but tend to brown quickly when pulled apart.  Watch them carefully to make sure they don’t burn.

 

IMG_4630

IMG_4632

While my vegetables were cooking, I made super simple turmeric chicken thighs.  Sprinkle the bone-in chicken thighs with a spice mixture of 1 T sesame seeds, 1.5 T turmeric, 1/2 T cumin, 1/2 tsp cayenne (omit if you don’t like spicy food), 1/2 T grey sea salt, and 1/2 T ancho chili powder (or regular chili powder).  (I also do this in a plastic bag so I don’t stain my fingers yellow from the turmeric!)

Place them in a super hot pan, skin side down, and cook for 12 minutes without touching or moving them around.  I use a Kuhn Rikon splatter guard so I don’t destroy the kitchen.  🙂 Flip the chicken and cook an additional 12-15 minutes.

IMG_4634

 

Everything finishes around the same time and I divide the meals into lunch portions for the whole week.

 

 

IMG_4639

 

By making extras, I always have healthy veggie snacks for when I get hungry.

IMG_4640

Leave a Reply

