Today’s Meals: Breakfast and Lunch/ a Banana Pancake Recipe

Breakfast was egg-less since I ran out of eggs and wasn’t going to Westerly until after my morning workout.  I sauteed 3/4 c mushrooms (shitake and crimini blend), then added 4 oz ground pork.  On the side I had lacto-fermented sauerkraut, pumpkin seeds/3 brazil nuts, a green juice (kale, celery, jalapeno, ginger, spinach, and cucumber) and my bulletproof tea.

IMG_4570

IMG_4569

IMG_4568_2

Lunch: A mix of regular and cocoa banana “pancakes” — in my continued “high carb” Saturdays, I added a banana post-workout to my lunch.  I put an egg on the side for some extra protein.

IMG_4580

Banana Pancakes:

Servings: 1
Prep Time:
10 min
Cook Time: 10 min

Ingredients:

  • 1 small banana (mine was ~90g)
  • 1 egg, separated
  • 1 T almond flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp alcohol-free vanilla
  • large pinch nutmeg
  • 1 T fair-trade dark cocoa (unsweetened) (optional)

Directions:

(1) Technically, this step is optional, but it makes a HUGE difference in the texture and fluffiness of the “pancakes.”  Use the whisk attachment to an immersion blender to beat the egg white until it forms stiff peaks.

IMG_4571

(2) Mash the banana with a fork and add the banana and all other ingredients to the egg whites.

IMG_4572

(3) Using the blender attachment to the immersion blender, blend the ingredients until they form a smooth batter.

IMG_4574

(4) I used 1/2 T of macadamia oil in the pan — but I don’t think I needed it.  I poured half of the batter into a super hot pan in 3 small rounds, then added 1T cocoa to the remaining batter and added those 3 small rounds to the pan.  Cook for about 3 min per side, then flip and cook for an additional 3 minutes.  Add your egg in after the first flip if you want to add one on the side.

IMG_4576

IMG_4577

Leave a Reply

