1/19 – 1/21/2014 Meals + a Hominy-less Pozole (yes, I get the irony) Recipe

Sunday’s Meals:

Breakfast: I opted for charred leeks and scrambled eggs (no oil in my Scanpan) with a side of Numi bulletproof tea.

image

Lunch: I made 10 oz scallops with a side of bacony-eggplant.  I sauteed 2 slices of Peterson’s Farm no-sugar added, nitrate free bacon, added the diced eggplant, and seasoned with salt, pepper, and one clove garlic.  The scallops were simply seared with salt and pepper on a super hot pan.

image(1)

Dinner: Random hodgepodge of beef meatballs, kale, leeks, and mushrooms that turned out delicious.  I mixed the 96/4 grass-fed ground beef with ~1.5 tsp fennel seeds, 1 clove garlic, 1/2 tsp oregano, 1/2 tsp basil, salt and pepper and formed them into meatballs.  I then browned the meatballs on each side.  When they were done on the outside (but still not fully cooked), I added the mushrooms and leeks and cooked for an additional 10 min.  Then I added the kale and 1/2 c red sauce — I was lucky enough to have my dad’s homemade sauce, but Rao’s Arrabiata sauce would work perfectly too.

image(4)

Monday’s Meals:

Breakfast: I made two eggs over easy (I am a black pepper fiend), 2 slices of Peterson’s Farm bacon (pan-seared), and a scoop of tomatillo salsa, with my usual bulletproof tea.

IMG_5245

Lunch: I had 6 oz pastured pork, (smoked in Texas!), with 5 brazil nuts on the side.

image(2)

Dinner: Same dinner as the night before. Leftovers are my favorite. 🙂

Today’s Meals:

Breakfast:  I reverted back my usual 3 hard-boiled eggs and 3 oz pork, with a bulletproof tea on the side.  I rarely mention it, but I start (and end) everyday with 2T ground flax seed and a dose of Natural Calm, which is how I get my magnesium.  I also add 1 mL of Ashwagandha and Vitamin D (both in liquid form) to the Natural Calm.  Look for an upcoming post later this week on my new supplement additions for 2014.  🙂

IMG_5255

Lunch: Paleo “Pozole” (recipe below), last remnants of my water+Hemp Protein in my Onnit shaker, and a frisee-romaine-red onion-radish-cucumber salad. (In my Fitmark containers – I am in love with my new Fitmark lunchbox, which comes with seal-proof BPA-free containers!)

IMG_5279

Dinner: A slight variation on Sun/Mon night’s dinners – I took the rest of my ground beef, mixed it with garlic, fennel seeds, salt and pepper, and browned it.  I set it aside and sauteed 1 c mixed crimini and shitake mushrooms, some scallions and five brussels sprouts.  I combined everything and added in 1/2 c red sauce.  I served it on top of a cup of raw spinach (which wilted/cooked from the heat of the meat).

IMG_1554

Paleo “Pozole” Recipe

Since “pozole” means hominy, this recipe is clearly missing a key ingredient.  I subbed sliced zucchini for the hominy and think this turned out pretty delicious.

Servings: 3
Prep Time: 15 min
Cook Time: 85 min (pressure cooker) or 145 min (stovetop)

Ingredients:

  • 5 c vegetable stock
  • 1 lb boneless pork loin chops
  • 1/2 tsp each ancho pepper, black pepper, salt, and cumin
  • 1/2 T macadamia nut oil
  • 1/2 c diced onions
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 15 cherry tomatos
  • 1-2 dried ancho peppers
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp oregano or marjoram (I used a mix of the 2)
  • 1 zucchini, sliced thinly

Directions:

(1) Season the pork with the ancho pepper, black pepper, salt, and cumin.  Sear it in a hot pan on all sides, then combine with 2 c stock, 1 clove garlic, and 1/4 c onions.  Cook for 30 min in the pressure cooker, or 1 hour on the stovetop. NOTE: I used thin pieces of pork loin to shorten the cooking time.  If your meat is thicker, add 30 min to an hour to the cook time.

IMG_4537

(2) Pull the meat out and reserve the cooking liquid.  While the meat cools, saute the remaining onion and garlic in the macadamia nut oil until browned, about 10 minutes.

IMG_4536

(3) Add half of the cherry tomatos and saute for an additional 5 min.  Add the 3 remaining cups of stock, the rest of the tomatos, the dried ancho peppers, cumin, and oregano to the broth.  Cook for 15 min in the pressure cooker, or 30 min on the stovetop.

(4) While the broth is cooking, use a fork to pull the pork apart into smaller pieces.

IMG_4540

(5) Use an immersion blender (or a regular blender — though it’s way more mess!) to puree the broth.  Add the meat and cook for 30 min, uncovered.  At the beginning, there will be way more broth than meat.  As the broth cooks down, the liquid will thicken.

IMG_4541

(6) Add the sliced zucchini and cook for 10 more minutes.  Serve hot, garnished with cilantro, scallions and avocado.

One thought on “1/19 – 1/21/2014 Meals + a Hominy-less Pozole (yes, I get the irony) Recipe

  1. Pingback: 1/22-1/24 Meals | Steaks, Squats, and Sundresses

Leave a Reply

