1/10/2014 Meals

Super quick meals today – tonight was going to be my first “high carb” meal (a la Carb Nite cycling), but I got home too late from work to make sweet potatoes before going to see Lone Survivor (awesome movie that (a) makes me feel amazingly grateful that there are brave and incredibly determined people fighting for my country/freedom and (b) left me so pumped up I wish I could do another workout tonight!).

This actually worked out well – tomorrow is quads/sprints day, which is always one of my hardest days of the workout week (and, not coincidentally, a super high calorie burning day).  So, getting in some extra carbs and calories tomorrow makes more sense than it would have tonight.  🙂

Breakfast: Instead of the same ol’, same ‘ol, I slept in an extra 20 min and ate breakfast after my shoulder workout (less than ideal, but I was exhausted.  I went to bed at 9:45 and woke up at 6:50 and still could have slept more!).  Breakfast was 3 hard boiled eggs, 1.5 pieces of italian sausage (only ingredients are pork, fennel, garlic, and red crushed pepper), and an Allegro chai tea (with extra cinnamon, no milk or sweeteners added).

IMG_4804

Lunch: 3 grilled pastured pork ribs (thanks Mom!), steamed broccoli and carrots, Numi tea.

IMG_4812

Dinner: Since I ran out of time, I just took out some of my dad’s brisket (thanks Dad!) and ate it with 2 pickle spears, some raw yellow onion, homemade pickled jalapenos, a spoonful of salsa, and 1/4 avocado.

IMG_4814

Days like today remind me why it’s always great to freeze leftovers – when you’re running late, it’s awesome to be able to go to your freezer (instead of some fast food restaurant) for something healthy, quick and easy to eat on the run. 🙂

Leave a Reply

