Workouts #10 and #11: Kettlebells (again) and the Fartlek (again)!

Workout #10:

Yesterday’s workout was awesome.  I was pressed for time and wanted to hit my shoulders hard in about 30-40 minutes.  My photographer has been out sick with a cold for the week :(, so I only have some recycled photos and links.

I did 5 rounds of:

20 Kettlebell swings @ 20kg

IMG_1806 IMG_1807
5/arm kettlebell snatches @14kg
5/arm kettlebell highpulls @14kg
10 kettlebell upright rows @ 20kg
15 sec hold/side of side plank

I finished with 3 X 10 of 65lb push press and 3X10 of 45 strict press and a 4 minute plank hold.

Workout #11:

Today, I followed up the weight work with a sprint interval workout this morning.  After a 1 mile warmup, I did 8 rounds of 1 minute on, 1 minute off (@ 4.0 or 4.5 mph, depending on how tired I was feeling).  The first 3 were at 10.5 mph, the next two were at 10.8, and the last 3 were at 11 mph (!!!).  I was excited to push back into my “fast” sprints after a few months of taking it easy.

Living the advice of Gregg Cook: if you want moderate results, put forth moderate effort.  If you want amazing results, push past what you think your limits are.  🙂

Leave a Reply

