Green Curry with Butternut Squash

I apologize for not posting all weekend – I’ve been uncharacteristically busy the past few weekends and finally had 2 days with nothing to do. I took advantage and spent as much time enjoying the NYC fall (aka, away from computer), but I did workout and cook a ton, so many posts to come.  🙂

Tonight, I was aiming for a higher carb and calorie count (40g carbs and 700 calories) to refuel from a super challenging morning workout/ nighttime cycle/row, but I failed.  It’s hard to plan things out, especially on my hardest workout days, but I’m trying to be less regimented, so I’ll count it as a success that this was delicious and not worry that I missed the mark by 15 g carbs and 125 calories…

Servings: 1
Prep Time: 5 min
Cook Time: 20 minutes

  • 1/8 cup leeks, thinly sliced
  • 1/8 cup yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 T Green Curry Paste (I used this one, which has no added sugars)
  • 1 tsp Macadamia Nut Oil
  • 1 tsp Ginger, minced
  • 3 kaffir leaves (I use this one) (optional – you can substitute lime zest if you can’t find kaffir leaves)
  • 1 tsp dried galangal (I use this one) (optional)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • 1/4 c coconut milk (I use this one, which is BPA and guar gum-free)
  • 1/8 cup celery, thinly sliced
  • 1/8 cup carrots, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup Zucchini, thinly sliced
  • Top half of a butternut squash (the part that is solid, not hollow)
  • 4 oz ground pork

Directions:

(1) Heat oil on medium high heat. Add the leeks, onions, and green curry paste. Cook, stirring frequently, for 3-5 minutes.

IMG_3554

(2) Add the garlic, celery, ginger, kaffir leaves, galangal (if using), chicken broth, and coconut milk. Cook for an additional 5 minutes.

(3) While the base is cooking, spiralize the top half of the butternut squash (i.e., the portion that is solid throughout).

IMG_3552

(4) Season the pork with salt and pepper and shape into meatballs. Add the pork and the butternut squash and cook covered for an additional 5 minutes.

IMG_3555

(5) Turn the meatballs, add the carrots and zucchini, and cook for a final 5-7 minutes.  (I added 2 whole cloves of black garlic – so good!)

IMG_3558

Delicious!

IMG_3568

IMG_3560

For nutrition info, see here.

Leave a Reply

