Mushrooms and Leeks with Hazelnuts

I started planning my “Thanksgiving” dinner menu for a meal with few close friends later this month (before I finally get to go home to Texas for actual Thanksgiving!)  I love fall vegetables, and am super excited with my plans:

  • Fennel, pear, prosciutto frisée salad
  • Roasted winter squash soup
  • Turkey Breast
  • Homemade Gravy
  • Mushroom, Leek, and Sausage “Stuffing”
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Cauliflower and leek gratin
  • Roasted carrots
  • Apple crisp
  • Vanilla/Coconut Ice cream

Recipes will all be posted once I actually make these dishes.  My planning did, however, inspire me to experiment with a mushroom-leek side dish tonight that will serve as the base of the stuffing.

Servings: 2
Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cook Time: 25 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 T butter or ghee
  • 1/4 c leeks
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1.5 c mixed mushrooms (I used oysters, criminis, and maitake)
  • 1/2 oz hazelnuts, copped coarsely
  • 1/2 tsp each salt and pepper

Directions:

(1) Heat a pan on low (I used setting 2 of 8) and add the butter/ghee.  Let it melt until the butter starts to turn brown, about 10-15 minutes.  While the butter is melting, slice the leeks and the mushrooms (pictured here with the rest of my dinner/lunch for tomorrow – strip steak and shisito peppers).  I left the crimini mushrooms whole, but sliced the oyster and maitake mushrooms.

IMG_3496

(2) Add the leeks and garlic to the butter/ghee and let simmer for 2-3 additional minutes.

(3) Add the mushrooms and cook on low heat for an additional 15-20 minutes.  In another pan (or if you are lazy like me, on the side of the mushrooms in the same pan), toast the hazelnuts for about 5 minutes, until the skins start to separate from the hazelnuts.

IMG_3497

(4) Mix together and serve on the side of your protein/other sides.

IMG_3501

(I cooked my meat a little longer tonight since my last steak got a lot of wide-eyed stares for being undercooked!)

IMG_3507

Leave a Reply

