Chicken “Spaghetti”

Growing up with an Italian father meant tons of delicious homemade Italian food:  spaghetti sauce, lasagna, tortellini, ravioli, meatballs, sausages, etc., etc., etc.  My sister and I loved helping my parents roll out the dough and shape the pasta (and let’s be honest — trying every variety of filling!)  I haven’t attempted to make tortellini or ravioli as an adult (so much work normally, and even more effort to make a good-tasting grain-free version in a teeny tiny NYC kitchen), but I love making “spaghetti” and “lasagna” (I’ll post my lasagna recipe this weekend).

I posted before about my love for zucchini noodles – they are a perfect replacement for spaghetti with either marinara, carbonara, or arrabbiata sauce.  I haven’t tried them with pesto, but I love making walnut-kale pesto (which I inevitably end up eating by the spoonful instead of on food) and will test the combo out soon.

Lest anyone think I only eat beef and pork, this recipe features chicken.  I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts, but any part of the chicken should work well.  You could even use ground chicken and make meatballs to throw in (though I personally prefer beef/pork or turkey meatballs.)

Servings: 2
Prep Time: 20 minutes
Cook Time: 25 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts, sliced into thin strips or cubes
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 c maitake mushrooms
  • 1/2 c crimini mushrooms
  • 2 zucchini
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp red crushed pepper
  • 1/2 c Rao’s Arrabbiata Sauce (Unfortunatly, it has been too long since I’ve gone home to Texas, so no homemade sauce right now, but Rao’s is delicious, uses all natural ingredients and has no added sugar, making it a great option)

Directions:

(1) Using a spiralizer, create the zucchini noodles.  (A julienne slicer would also allow you to make noodles but takes a lot more effort.)  Place the noodles in a colander with a liberal amount of salt and top with a heavy plate or bowl to help squeeze the water out of the noodles.  Leave the noodles like this for at least 15-20 minutes (or you can do this in advance and leave in the refrigerator overnight.)

IMG_3464

(2) While the zucchini is sitting, saute the chicken and mushrooms with the salt, pepper, and garlic until chicken is cooked through, about 15-20 minutes.

IMG_3473

(3) Add the zucchini and cook an additional 5 minutes.

IMG_3475

(4) Add the sauce and cook 2-3 minutes, until heated through.  Sprinkle red crushed pepper on top and serve immediately.

IMG_3484

Leave a Reply

