Cabbage Rolls

I ended up with second degree burns on my hand making this recipe – I grabbed the handle of the hot pan when I was washing dishes, not realizing that it was the pan that had been in the 350 degree oven for an hour.  (I highly recommend skipping this step!)  Luckily, my new concoction was delicious, or I would have been extremely upset to have been maimed for bad food.  🙂

FYI – I’ve been using Rocambole Garlic from Keith’s Farm (available in the Union Square Farmer’s Market) – the NYT article did not exaggerate the awesomeness.  If you’re in NYC, this is a must-buy.  I am a garlic lover, and this is probably the best garlic I’ve ever tasted (though Mary Leinsdorf’s Berkshire-grown garlic is also pretty incredible.  I cannot highlight enough that I have the most amazing friends!)

IMG_1905

Servings: 3
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 75 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 c leeks, sliced thinly
  • 1/4 c poblano peppers, sliced thinly
  • 1/3 c celery
  • 1/2 c chopped mixed mushrooms (I used maitake and criminis)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 T macadamia oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 T minced parsley
  • 1 lb grass-fed ground beef
  • 7-10 cabbage leaves
  • 1 28 oz can crushed tomatos (I used this fire-roasted variety)
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 c chicken broth

Directions:

(1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Dice all the vegetables and saute with the garlic in macadamia oil until browned, about 5-7 minutes.

IMG_3465 IMG_3466

(2) While the vegetables are cooking, steam the cabbage leaves.  I placed a metal colander over a pot of boiling water and steamed the leaves for about 3-5 minutes.

IMG_3467

(3) Mix the cooked vegetables, spices, and parsley with the ground beef.

IMG_3468

(4) Cut the thick part of the cabbage stem away from the steamed leaves, place a heaping spoonful of the meat mixture in the center of the steamed leaf, and fold over to cover the meat.  (If you like salty food, you can sprinkle a small amount of sea salt on the cabbage leaf).

IMG_3471IMG_3472

(5) Place the wrapped cabbage rolls into a large pan, cover with the tomatos, chicken broth and garlic.  Cook on medium heat until the “sauce” starts to blend together.

IMG_3477

(6) Transfer to the oven and cook for 1 hour on 350.

IMG_3489

I didn’t save the “sauce” – I ate them with whatever tomato sauce had stuck to the top.  Delicious!

Leave a Reply

