Chicken (Zucchini) Noodle Soup

I eat soup year round because my office is so cold that I have to spend the day drinking hot tea and broth just to melt. Buuuut, it’s finally cold enough outside for soup really to make sense!  One of my favorite recipes is a chicken faux-noodle soup.  My mom used to make chicken noodle soup from scratch (homemade stock and everything) for me every time I got sick as a child, and this recipe reminds me of how delicious her version is.

Zucchini noodles are one of my favorite substitutions for pasta or noodle based recipes.  I actually think that they are tastier than regular noodles (and my family and some friends agree).  They work perfectly in any noodle-based soup recipe – they have a crunch and flavorfulness that really enhance a broth.  They’re also amazingly versatile.  Last year, I centered my holiday party menu around 3 types of zucchini noodle dishes topped with different sauces and meatballs and/or pancetta wrapped scallops.  (I promise recipes in upcoming posts!)

IMG_0620

IMG_0592

Chicken “Noodle” Soup

Servings: 3 large bowls of soup
Prep Time: 15 minutes
Cook Time: 40 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 12 oz Organic Chicken Drumsticks, about 6 drumsticks (I get mine here)
  • 8 cups Chicken Stock (I made mine exactly the same way I make my beef stock, substituting in chicken wings for beef bones, but you can also use any sugar-free stock from the store)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp parsley, minced
  • 1/2 tsp-1 tsp salt (depending on how salty your broth is)
  • peppercorns (optional)
  • 1 c okra, chopped
  • 1.5 medium zucchinis (about 2 c “noodles”)
  • 1 c Lacinato kale, chopped
  • 1/2 small red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped

Directions:

(1) Spiralize the zucchini noodles using a vegetable slicer (or you can julienne the zucchini using a peeler or other slicer).  The vegetable slicer is amazingly affordable at $30 and makes “noodling” vegetables way easier.  It will effortlessly create thin strands of “noodles” within seconds.

IMG_3424

IMG_3428_2

(2) Place the zucchini noodles in a colander, season with 1/4 tsp salt, and then top with a heavy plate/bowl to help force the water to drain from the noodles.  The salt and pressure are crucial – the more water that is released from the noodles before cooking, the crunchier and tastier the noodles will be.

(3) Add the stock, garlic, a few peppercorns (if desired), and parsley into the pressure cooker (or a stockpan).  Salt and pepper the drumsticks, and add to the pot.  (If you plan to eat this at the office, it may be easier to debone the chicken first – I find that adding the whole drumstick adds more flavor and is worth the messiness at work. 🙂 )  Cook on Level 2 for 20 minutes (or in a regular stock pan for 45 minutes).

(4) While the chicken is cooking, coarsely chop the vegetables.

IMG_3431

(5) Open the pressure cooker, add the chopped vegetables, and cook on Level 1 for an additional 5 minutes (or in a stockpan for 10-12 minutes).  The vegetables should still have a nice crunch when cooked.

IMG_3433

Nutrition info here.

One thought on “Chicken (Zucchini) Noodle Soup

  1. Pingback: Chicken “Spaghetti” | Steaks, Squats, and Sundresses

Leave a Reply

