Cauliflower Soup

My favorite (read: absolutely simplest to make) soup is cauliflower soup.  Inspired by a deliciously silky smooth version that I had several years ago at ABC Kitchen, I’ve tried several variations of my own and have perfected the way I like my soup.  If you like a richer, smokier taste, you can roast the cauliflower in the oven on 350 degrees with macadamia oil and salt for 20-25 minutes first.

Servings: 6
Prep Time: 5 minutes
Cook Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 head cauliflower, about 4 cups chopped (I used a yellow cauliflower this week, but any variety works)
  • 2 1/4 inch rings yellow onion
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 6 c stock (I used homemade, but this one is a good organic option with no added sweeteners)
  • 1/4 tsp ground pepper
  • Optional garnishes: 1/4 tsp cumin, chives, and 1.5 tsp truffle oil or thinly shaved fresh jalapenos and 1.5 tsp truffle oil.

Directions:

(1) Chop the whole cauliflower in large pieces and remove bottom greens.

IMG_3384

(2) Add cauliflower, onion, and garlic to stockpan.  Cover with stock and cook on high for about 20 minutes (or until cauliflower is very soft when pierced with a fork.)

IMG_3386

(3) Puree with an immersion blender until smooth.

IMG_3397

I like my version thick but silky, which is what this ratio of stock to cauliflower will produce.  For a runnier soup, add an additional 2 cups stock.  Serve hot with any garnishes you like – I think a dash of truffle oil and cumin makes all the difference in the world (but I’m also a jalapeno lover, so I alternate)!  I’ve also seen bacon, pickled onions, and all sorts of other options.  The relatively mild taste of the cauliflower makes it an easy base for a wide range of flavors.

Nutrition facts here.

Leave a Reply

