Workout 6: Sculpt the Shoulders

Work has been super busy the past couple of days – but I was lucky enough to have lunches pre-made to eat and blog posts pre-written that I could upload.  Unfortunately, there’s no such thing as a pre-done workout, so I had to miss two days away from my beloved Equinox gym.  😦

But, I was back at it this morning in full force with a shoulder lift + interval run.  I might head back tonight for the same type of quick interval work in the pool.

I started with 5 rounds of 3 exercises, 7 reps each:

(1) 7 Thrusters, 50 lbs
(2) 7 Push Press, 50 lbs (actually don’t love the link’s photo – he looks a little lopsided and like the weight was too heavy.  Weight should be evenly distributed between both legs and the “push” should come from hips and shoulders.  I’ll upload my own pictures when I get a chance.)
(3) 7 X arm One-Arm Kettlebell Snatch, 12 kg

I moved on to 3 rounds of:

(1) 8 Overhead Press, 22.5 lbs dumbbells (standing)
(2) 5 Front Raises, 15 lb dumbbells (both arms, not alternating)
(3) 10 Lateral Raises, 10 lb dumbbells

I finished it out with a quick 10 minutes on the treadmill: 1 min on @10.2 mph (inspired by last week’s realization that I can push harder than I think), 1 min off @ 4.0 mph intervals at an incline of 2.0.  I was feeling tired so I used my favorite trick to inspire myself: choose the most ridiculous music on my phone to keep me smiling.  Today’s selections were 80’s favorites:  Toto – Africa and Roxette – It Must Have Been Love.  I was literally almost laughing, so it definitely put a little extra spring in my step.

Next week’s intervals will be hill sprints – more details to come.

Leave a Reply

