Easy Dinners…

I love to cook, but sometimes cooking an elaborate meal is not in the cards, like when I get home at 9:00 at night and still have a deposition outline to read, or when my entire body is dead from Terracycle and shockwave classes with Gregg Cook, or both (yes: this is, perhaps, a current-real-life example).  Tonight, I am lucky enough to have yesterday’s braised pork in the fridge (served with quick pan-roasted brussel sprouts), but in those instances where I am not prepared, I turn to a few go-to 15-20 minute meals that still hit the spot.

(1) Burger with Avocado

My burger recipe is simple – grass fed sirloin, 2 cloves of crushed garlic, sea salt, and pepper.  Occasionally, I throw in 1T horseradish or stone-ground mustard or switch to truffle salt.  I serve it with homemade lacto-fermented pickles (recipe forthcoming) and a slice of avocado, and when I am lucky, with leftover roasted veggies.

IMG_3292

(2) Steak

The “Easy dinners” post is red meat heavy, mainly because the cooking time is short (as long as you remember to leave the meat in the fridge to defrost on the way out in the morning).  It also helps when you were raised on Texas black-and-blues and love your steak nearly raw.  I am a purist, so I sear mine quickly with just salt and pepper, and serve over romaine leaves if I have them with sauteed mushrooms and pan-steamed broccoli on the side.

IMG_1516

(3) Rotisserie Chicken

The ultimate in lazy “cooking” – picking up an organic rotisserie chicken at Eataly or Whole Foods on the way home, and serving it over mixed greens with avocado, scallions, celery, avocado, red bell pepper, and shaved fennel.  Added benefit of this option is saving the rest of the chicken for Thai Chicken cups (recipe forthcoming) and using the chicken bones to make stock (also forthcoming) on the weekend.

(4) Eggs with breakfast sausage

I love eggs.  I could eat them 3 times a day.  And no, I don’t worry about my cholesterol – I have been an egg consuming machine for years, and my latest cholesterol numbers are “ideal” – to quote my endocrinologist. I’ll update the post tomorrow with a photo when I can find my latest results.
(5) In a real pinch, keep Trader Joe’s Spicy Chicken Sausage or Applegate Farms Uncured, Organic Chicken or Turkey hot dogs in the fridge and eat with a simple veggie (steamed broccoli, cauliflower, mushrooms, brussel sprouts) and homemade sriracha.

Good food doesn’t have to take forever to make – but it does make a commitment to sticking to your nutrition plan even when time is short!

One thought on “Easy Dinners…

Leave a Reply

